Our Guest Reviews



Paul and Lesley are FANTASTIC - Rating 5/5

This sweet couple have thought of everything!! The real bonus comes when you get to know them. They are genuine and thoughtful people.

Reviewer:Marie Le M | Thu 22nd Aug 2019 | 1 day ago


things were perfect - Rating 5/5

things were very good,The breakfast was really good .we were treated like kings

Reviewer:jean h | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 5 days ago


Amazing - Rating 4/5

Great couple so friendly , perfect location

Reviewer:Lynsey N | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


A lovely holiday - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 5 nights. The room had everything a person would need, down to small things like face cloth, fan, torch, etc. It has beautiful views of Lake Windermere. The breakfast was delicious with a selection of cereals and a full English. Paul and Lesley were so helpful, offering trip advice and helping with buses and ferry timetables. Friendly people, lovely room, I couldn’t have asked for more.

Reviewer:Sarah S | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


Bow ness- Rating 5/5

Paul and Lesley are fantastic hosts our room was spotless with great views of windermere lake it was our second visit and we would not hesitate to visit again

Reviewer:Philip & Avril J | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 1 week ago


Relaxing- Rating 5/5

We received a very warm welcome from Paul, it felt very homely as soon as you walked in. The room we stayed in was no 3, it was very nice and very clean. Location is very good. We would recommend a stay at the Hazeldene Guest House.

Reviewer:Statia B | Wed 7th Aug 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Enjoyex our stay host paul n lesley was lovely made u feel welcome food was excelant also room was spotless nothing was too much trouble would certainly go back to stay

Reviewer:Janet & Terry P | Wed 7th Aug 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Hazeldene Guest House - Rating 3/5

This B&B was very nice but the stairs were a problem as we are OAP

Response

Hi Ralph, thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay in July 2019.In the review you say \'the stairs were a problem as we are OAP\'. Our description does point out that your room is situated on the second floor and access is by stairs only. If stairs are a problem may I suggest the next time you are looking for accommodation you check the description of the guest house, hotel etc and choose a more suitable room. I wish you all the best for the future. Regards

Reviewer:Ralph B | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

The stay was lovely. Great breakfast, comfy bed, Paul and Lesley were great hosts. The guest house was only a 10 minute walk to all amenties plus the beautiful Lake Windermere.

Reviewer:Beverley H | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Very pleasant and great location. - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room was as expected and a lovely view of the lake. Location was very good and easy to have a stroll down to the lake. Parking space provided for each room. Great breakfast and more than enough. For the price this is a gem. Thanks for looking after us and have a nice retirement.

Reviewer:Andrew D | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Weekend away- Rating 5/5

What a little gem paul&Lesley made us feel so welcome clean and tidy breakfast very good, a great place to stay, colin &Rose Edwards.

Reviewer:Colin E | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


a good place to stay - Rating 5/5

Hazeldene's rooms were clean &comfortable with excellent views of Windermere , we had a excellent breakfast ,the place its self was will situated ,Paul &Lesley give us a very warm welcome

Reviewer:Clive T | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Like to thank paul and lesley (owners) for makeing our break a fantastic timeGreat hosts and breakfast was great rooms were very well equipedThanks again

Reviewer:william C | Tue 9th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Hazeldene is one of (husband and I) our favourite places. This time we went with our friends. Paul and Lesley always give a warm welcome and always go the extra mile to ensure that our stay is spot on and we have all we need. The beds are so comfortable and the rooms are spotlessly clean. They also provide a good vegetarian breakfast, with homemade jam and marmalade. The Guest House is a two minute walk to the centre surrounded by great restaurants and cafes. About 20 yards from the bus stop, with a regular bus service. Great for walkers too. I highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Lilian W | Sat 6th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent location with parking andcomfortable rooms.Paul and Lesley's hospitality is second to none.

Reviewer:George & Jacqueline L | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Birthday break- Rating 5/5

Returned to Hazeldine after a lovely break last year.Great hosts as usual, lovely breakfast, lovely room (2) Lake view.Paul and Leslie are are always on hand to give you any information you need to enjoy your stay in Bowness on Windermere.

Reviewer:James & Janet S | Sat 29th Jun 2019 | 1 month ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Just spent our second visit to this guest house again clean and great location for all things, good breakfast serve with early morning humor would recommend to anybody wishing to visit Bowness .

Reviewer:RAY R | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Our stay at hazeldene guest house - Rating 5/5

As always a very pleasant stay Paul and Leslie so lovely helpful in every matter very clean and yummy breakfast we keep coming back here year after year recommend to everyone.

Reviewer:Angela & Paul B | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


our 4 night stay - Rating 5/5

This was our seconed stay room 2 lovely room with a view the Paul and Lesley treat you like one of their own make you feel welcomed including the little banter paul and I have.we will be staying again in the near future.

Reviewer:Brian B | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Hazeldene Guest House - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay at Hazeldene. A nice location. Comfortable room. Nice Breakfast.

Reviewer:Brendan C | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Recommend - Rating 5/5

We would highly recommend the Hazeldine Guest House to anyone, excellent room, excellent breakfast and scrupulously clean. Paul and Lesley where super hosts.

Reviewer:Jeanette J | Fri 21st Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Couldn\'t ask for more - Rating 5/5

Paul &Lesley made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent especially the homemade jams &marmalades.

Reviewer:Andy S | Sat 15th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent welcoming guest house - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here several times simply due to paul and lesleys attention to details and their excellent friendly snd welcoming attitude. The rooms are well served with toiletries and all coffee making facilities. Theres even an ironing board and hair dryer. Lovely place...no hesitation in recommending

Reviewer:Audrey H | Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Highly recommended- Rating 5/5

Good location close to bowness pier for the boat trips.Nice breakfast with home made jamsGood size clean roomCordial hosts on hand with advise and help on your day with excellent local knowledge

Reviewer:Noel L | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


Friends wedding - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Hazeldene for 2 nights as our friends were getting married in Bowness and we really enjoyed our stay,lovely room with a Gorgeous view,great location,great hosts and delicious breakfast,we definitely recommend this guesthouse.

Reviewer:Cathryn H | Sun 9th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


two night break - Rating 4/5

We arrived alittle early but Paul and Lesley said the room was ready so we check in. Paul was really friendly and helpful . The room was spotless and the view from room 4 was lovely.Breakfast was great nice touchwas the homemaded jams and maralades.A couple of little niggles tv reception and wifi patchy.But we had a really nice stay thank you.

Response

Hi Carol thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review on your recent stay with us. I\'m sorry all was not 100% but if you had mentioned it while you were here we may have been able to do something. Tv reception can be a tad iffy but that can be down to the weather (which was poor) and the fact we have to share the transmitter and only get some programmes. Also it has been known for some guests to fiddle with the TV setup and not tell anyone. Wifi can be patchy and it is down to a few reason some of which we have no control i.e the line into the house, guests\' devices and the thickness of the walls, 18 inches in some places. I\'m glad you had a nice stay overall and hope to see you again some time soon. Paul

Reviewer:Carol G | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 2 months ago


best b&b around - Rating 5/5

its our second time staying here and it wont be our last. you wont find a cleaner b&b anywhere. there is always a warm welcome for you and the hosts go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. lovely breakfast even home made jam and marmalade

Reviewer:David Sayers & Julie T | Wed 29th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Fabulous place to stay - Rating 5/5

we had a fab stay,a very warm welcome from the hosts. Rooms had everything we needed with lots of lovely little touches, very clean and comfortable, the best nights sleep ever! We where 3 couples travelling up on motorcycles and we were offered the garage for our bikes,great to go to bed knowing they were safe as could be. Looking forward to returning, already planning. Thank you hazeldene.

Reviewer:| Mon 27th May 2019 | 2 months ago


Alwaysa great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Always a great place to stay very clean with a fantastic breakfast . Paul and Lesley are great hosts

Reviewer:Julie H | Fri 17th May 2019 | 3 months ago


2night stay May 4th 2019 - Rating 5/5

Great location, great breakfast,great home made jams and marmalades, lovely room and a big thanks to paul and lesley for making it a lovely 2 night stay.

Reviewer:Andy K | Tue 7th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Friendly guest house - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean and cosy guest house in the midfle of bowness. Paul and lesley are very welcoming and do a good breakfast. I highly recommend for good value for money and exploring the lakes!!

Reviewer:Lisa & Steve H | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Super - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean and cosy guest house in the midfle of bowness. Paul and lesley are very welcoming and do a good breakfast. I highly recommend for good value for money and exploring the lakes!!

Reviewer:Lisa & Steve H | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Midweek break - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely 2 night stay last week.Beautiful view of the lake from our room.Paul and Lesley were great hosts and the breakfast was great especially the homemade marmalade would definetely recommend Hazeldene as its in a good location for the shops and lake.

Reviewer:Lorraine M | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 3 months ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Had a great great host great room great breakfast

Reviewer:Adrienne Jackson & Chris C | Tue 16th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Mien Host - Rating 5/5

this was our third stay with the wonderful Paul and Lesley, we have already booked to stay again next year, a lovely Guest house in a beautiful setting, everything was of top standards as we have come to expect, nothing is to much trouble, the room is always spotless and the bed so comfy, i would heartily recommend this guest house that is always pleasure to stay in, the standards and hosts are always first class thanks for another great weekendShirl

Reviewer:Mr Andrew Lindley| Tue 16th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Perfect weekend location! - Rating 5/5

What a joy to have stopped at such a lovely guest house!It was immaculately clean in all the rooms and thought had gone into the decor and furnishings.Paul and Lesley are perfect hosts and are well suited to the hospitality business. We look forward to arranging another weekend at the Hazeldene!

Reviewer:Diane B | Tue 9th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


First class bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Great service from arriving to leaving . Lovely room with great view . Fab breakfast cooked by Paul . Good local knowledge . Would highly recommend

Reviewer:Jane C | Sat 30th Mar 2019 | 4 months ago


Relaxing weekend - Rating 5/5

Had another brilliant time at Hazeldene. Nothing is too much trouble for Paul and Lesley. Rooms are cosy and warm, very comfortable beds and very clean. Breakfast was lovely, with the addition of home made jams and marmalade. Hotel was very central for everything. Will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Barbara & Mark H | Sun 24th Mar 2019 | 5 months ago


So good we will return - Rating 5/5

Paul and Lesley are so friendly and welcoming, they made our stay very comfortable and the breakfast was lovley.

Reviewer:Tina & T | Sun 24th Mar 2019 | 5 months ago


First visit- Rating 5/5

Booked for two nights last weekend , wish it had been more! Fabulous place to stay with genuinely friendly welcoming hosts. Will return asap

Reviewer:David H | Thu 14th Mar 2019 | 5 months ago


Hazeldene guest House- Rating 5/5

As soon as you walk through the door of hazeldene, you are welcomed with a warm friendly atmosphere. The hosts can't do enough for you, nothing is to much trouble. Rooms are warm and cosy comfortable and very clean, breakfast was lovely, hotel was very central for everything. Hope to stay again in August.

Reviewer:Sharron M | Tue 12th Mar 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

3rd stay in last 2 years. As ever Paul &Lesley perfect hosts. Great B&B in ideal location with free car parking included. We'll be back.

Reviewer:Steven P | Sun 3rd Mar 2019 | 5 months ago


Our Winter Stopover - Rating 5/5

We chose Hazeldene for a 3 day trip to the Lake District. The guest house has a great location with views of Lake Windermere and a few minutes walk to shops and a wide range of pubs, restaurants etc. (we even visited the small cinema which was 2 mins walk away)Paul is a remarkable host! Funny, likeable and interesting but totally professional and with an incredible eye for detail and service. We were thoroughly entertained by him and this influence the quality of our stay right from the start.Our room (2) was warm and comfortable with a great lake view.We would think of staying nowhere else next time we visit the lakes

Reviewer:Steven F | Sat 23rd Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


New Years Eve 2018 - Rating 5/5

This is our 3rd year in Bowness for NYE, this was our 1st time at the Hazeldene, and wont be our last. This is a fantastic guest house, location fantastic, rooms clean and tidy, breakfast very nice, and the hosts are very helpful.As soon as we have a trip planned to Bowness, this will be our 1st place to contact.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Karl Bennett| Wed 2nd Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


New year\'s eve stay- Rating 5/5

It's are 2nd time we have stayed at the Hazeldene for New year.all ways get a good well come when we come .very clean breakfast is lovely rooms very comfortable.booked for next new year 10 out of 10

Reviewer:Mr David Hoey| Wed 2nd Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


Hazeldene Guest House- Rating 5/5

This is our second stay with Paul and Lesley, they are very friendly, helpful and welcoming making our two night stay very enjoyable and relaxing.The Guest house is absolutely beautiful inside and out,The rooms and ensuite bathrooms are well done out and very comfortable with some having stunning views over lake Windermere, the breakfasts and home made jams made by Paul and Lesley were delicious, my partner and I will be going back again in the new year.

Reviewer:Paul McEvoy & Joanne D | Fri 14th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


GREAT LITTLE PLACE - Rating 4/5

Location is ideal free parking and a nice clean Guest house. Host Paul very nice and the breakfast not bad either.

Reviewer:Alan R | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


First time at Hazeldene - Rating 5/5

The host was very welcoming,frienly and helpful. The guest house was clean and well maintained throughout with comfortable bed and well equipped room. Tradotional breakfast cooked well and lovely home-made jams and marmalades.

Reviewer:Anne A | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 9 months ago


Excellent Guest House. - Rating 5/5

Yet again another lovely three nights stay at the Hazeldene Guest House. Our favourite place to stay. Cosy rooms, wifi, and a lovely big breakfast that will fill you to the brim. Big thank you to Paul &Lesley for spoiling us both as per usual 🌺🌺🌺🌺

Reviewer:Joe & Wyn K | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 9 months ago


Theatre stopover- Rating 5/5

Stopped two nights to get in a couple of walks and to visit Laundry Theatre ( 5 minute walk down road). Paul and Lesley very helpful hosts, giving splendid breakfasts and useful walk information. Paul gave us printout information on circular walks to Orrest Head and Scout Scar. Room 2 was excellent value. Overlooking rear of property with view of lake ....after climbing up to 3rd floor! Lovely large room with small sofa, two comfy chairs and small ensuite. Would certainly stay again!

Reviewer:Ian M | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 9 months ago


Jewel of the lakes - Rating 5/5

We had a great first time visit to the lakes.Paul and Lesley were fantastic hosts, with plenty of information about the area and a very warm welcome.Hazledene met with all our requirements, close to amenities, good parking, spotlessly clean, lovely room, great breakfast, plenty of chat and laughter, great hosts.We will be back as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Thank you.

Reviewer:Phil W | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 9 months ago


Very friendly - Rating 5/5

Paul and Lesley are wonderful people who are very friendly and welcoming.The guest house is beautifully clean and tidy.From booking the room to arriving and departing we were made to feel like friends rather than guests.Will definatly be back.

Reviewer:Heather P | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 9 months ago


Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Been here many times now always made welcome lovely clean place and bed was lovely n comfortable paul n lesely r very friendly be back next year

Reviewer:Maria Donnelly & Derek W | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Paul and Lesley made us feel very welcome at the Hazeldene. The rooms were cosy with toiletries and a choice of beverages. The cooked breakfast was plentiful with a choice of cereals to start.There is a car park at the rear of the building.

Reviewer:Vanessa D | Sun 28th Oct 2018 | 9 months ago


Hazeldene - Rating 5/5

Excellent little guest house, perfectly situated close to the busy town of Bowness ,very friendly hosts, great breakfast will stay there again.

Reviewer:stephen t | Sun 21st Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Hotel review - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at the Hazeldene it was clean and love the view out of the windowalso the breakfast was good

Reviewer:Joanne D | Tue 9th Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Paul and Lesley were very welcoming and lovely hosts.The room was lovely and clean and i would definetly stay here again.

Reviewer:Matthew F | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


House hunting in the lakes. - Rating 4/5

I found Hazeldene extremely cosy in a great location for both Bowness village and Windermere. The owners were very informative and friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Matthew A | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Hazeldene Guest House- Rating 5/5

FabulousMade very welcomeSpotlessly clean

Reviewer:SHIRLEY H | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Had another brilliant time at Hazeldene. Friendly welcome, good food, comfortable bed (and pillows). Paul and Lesley go the extra mile to make sure that all their guests are well cared for and comfortable. Booked again for next year. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs Lilian W | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Had another brilliant time at Hazeldene. Friendly welcome, good food, comfortable bed (and pillows). Paul and Lesley go the extra mile to make sure that all their guests are well cared for and comfortable. Booked again for next year. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs Lilian W | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Back home - Rating 5/5

Loveky stay as always. Bern coming here for 10 years and paul and lesley are very welcoming like family and a spotless room with a great breakfast

Reviewer:Miss Emma Grime| Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Chill weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house run by lovely and friendly hosts. Very comfy bed and well cooked breakfast jam and marmalade was first class will definitely be visiting again.

Reviewer:Jeanette R | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Superb Guest House - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The guest house was very clean homely and comfortable. Paul and Lesley were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would definitely go again.

Reviewer:Rosalind G | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


the lakes - Rating 5/5

Always a pleasure to stay with Paul and Lesley at the Hazeldene when we're up in the lakes.

Reviewer:Terry L | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Bowness guesthouse- Rating 5/5

Great position in the town, close to the car parking area. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Very nice room and excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:STUART B | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Friendly and clean b&b. Great breaksfast. - Rating 5/5

Great stay. Breakfast lovely. Thanks for having us!

Reviewer:Tom Zamoyski| Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 11 months ago


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

This was our 3rd visit and we will be staying again. Paul &Lesley are lovely hosts. Great breakfast with lovely homemade Jam &Marmalade.

Reviewer:Mr Graham Smith| Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Hazeldene review - Rating 5/5

Thanks for having us we enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning

Reviewer:James Watson| Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Warm stay - Rating 5/5

It was very comfortable and Paul was extremely warm and welcoming and very helpful also extremely caring.

Reviewer:eliezer g | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


You must stay here! - Rating 5/5

Paul is one of the nicest hosts. Funny and keeps a spotless house. Perfect location for everywhere. Bowness is a lively lovely place to visit loads going on. 2 min walk to lake. Stunning. Plenty shops n bars/restaurants.

Reviewer:craig D | Tue 31st Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic guest house - Rating 5/5

Hidden gem in BownessFriendly owners who are so helpfulRoom spotless!Magnificent viewLovely breakfast and fab choice of homemade jams and marmaladeWould highly recommend it as has added bonus of parking spaceSee you next year

Reviewer:Jennie D | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Location location location- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely 2 day break staying at hazeldene,nice comfortable clean room, great hosts, fab breakfast and perfect location.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs D | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Guest House - Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house in a perfect location. Spotlessly clean with good food. Paul and Lesley are the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. Added bonus is that you have your own parking space. Would definately recommend. We stayed in room 5 which is the smallest room but it had everything we needed and was perfect for us.

Reviewer:Deb T | Thu 21st Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Susan & Chris (copied from Tripadvisor) - Rating 5/5

The hazeldene is a lovely place with friendly hosts I would advise family and friends to stay here ideal location and very well kept thank you for a lovely stay looking forward visiting in the near futureSusan & Chris

Reviewer:Susan & C | Thu 21st Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome & would certainly visit again. Lovely lake view room (Room 2), great breakfasts and good hosts. Thanks

Response

Thanks for the great review, we always try our best to make everyone feel relaxed and contented. Look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Reviewer:Mike & Sue B | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay many thanks. Next time we're here we will definitely stay here.

Response

Thanks Steve & Jo-Ann we look forward to seeing you both again. Take care.

Reviewer:Steve A | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Brilliant stay, lovely people, fab food, great banter.

Response

We always like the banter, makes the breakfast time that more enjoyable with everyone chatting.

Reviewer:Paula & Tony H | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Many thanks for a lovely 2 days - excellent breakfast, see you again.

Response

Many thanks Lynn, pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewer:Lynn M | Sun 3rd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Exceptional stay (Copied from Tripadvisor) - Rating 5/5

My wife and I booked 2 nights at Hazeldene and now wish we'd booked longer.Paul is an exceptional host, very personable and chatty, but not intrusive.The location is at the top of main thoroughfare and minutes from the Piers. Parking is excellent with a parking space behind hotel.The room, number 4, was spacious and comfortable. With a view over the Lake and you have an excellent view of the sun setting over the lake itself. Being high up the room can get quite warm, but Paul has thought of everything and a fan is provided, which was a Godsend to be honest.Breakfast is lovely, which is ordered the night before. Paul even makes his own Jam's and Marmalade, a couple of which we tried and were not dissapontedThe room is located up a couple of flights of stairs, so if you have mobility issues you may want to think about it or check with Paul to see if you'd be suitable.If, or when, we return to the Windermere area then Hazeldene will be at the top of our places to stay

Reviewer:Steve B | Fri 1st Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a fabulous stay, great hosts, lovely banter.

Response

Thanks for visiting us and giving us a good review made all the better with our chats and windups during breakfast. See you both again soon. Paul

Reviewer:Paul & Sue C | Fri 25th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Fantastic 2nd stay, looking forward to a 3rd. Thanks to Paul & Lesley

Response

It was wonderful to see you both again and hopefully in the not too distant future. Give me a call

Reviewer:Julie & Steve P | Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Perfect Bed & Breakfast and lovely people.

Response

Thanks Ant for your review, much appreciated. When you want to come again let me know and we'll see what we can do for you both.

Reviewer:Anthony D | Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

A fantastic stay - delicious breakfast and great hosts. Thanks very much

Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewer:Steven & Ruth R | Fri 11th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Absolutely brilliant stay. Lovely room, brilliant breakfast. perfect hosts. We'll recommend you

Response

Thanks for the great review!

Reviewer:Ken & Sarah Q | Mon 7th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyable short break. Great hosts, fantastic location, enjoyable breakfast and thoroughly clean throughout. Not our first visit and certainly won’t be our last.

Reviewer:Paul B | Fri 4th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Brilliant stay, thanks for your hospitality, hope to see you again sometime

Response

Thank you Sue, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Sue N | Tue 1st May 2018 | 1 year ago


5* Review (Copied from Tripadvisor) - Rating 5/5

Stayed here weekend just gone and honestly couldn't fault it one bit. Arrived early to make the most of the day and Paul allowed us to park up and check in early. The Guest House is really lovely, very clean and comfortable. We stayed in Room 2, the biggest in the property and it over looked the Lake which was a bonus. Breakfast was superb and set us up for the day. I recommend trying the homemade Jams and Marmalades. I think when we stay in Bowness again we will be staying here! Thank You for a pleasant experience.

Reviewer:M | Mon 23rd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend in Bowness on Windermere (Copied from Tripadvisor - Rating 5/5

Could not fault our 2 night stay at Paul & Lesley’s guesthouse. From the moment we got their we felt at home and were made very welcome, Paul is extremely friendly and makes you feel very comfortable. We stayed in Room 1, which was spacious and had a lovely few of the lake. Bed extremely comfortable with fluffy pillows and thick duvet, slept very well! Breakfast was faultless with many options selected the night before making the morning relaxed and organised. Homemade jams were delicious! Location is perfect, just a short walk to Windermere town centre for shops and a shorter walk in the opposite direction takes you through various pubs, restaurants and bars ending up down at the lake! Parking is safe and off the street, Paul even allowed us to leave our car on the day of check out so we could have one last look around Windermere and even managed a boat trip to Ambleside! Overall, I would 100% recommend Hazeldene Guest House. You will not be disappointed!

Reviewer:S | Sun 8th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Easter Stay - Rating 5/5

Thanks so much for hosting us over Easter 2018! Your hospitality and lovely rooms were the perfect tonic after long days of walking. Couldn’t recommend Hazeldene enough. Best Lauren & Glenn

Response

Thank you for taking the time in giving us a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Take care and stay safe. Cheers Paul & Lesley

Reviewer:Lauren O | Mon 2nd Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


comfort and joy - Rating 5/5

Once again it was time to decend on bowness-on-windermere and the weekend stop at the hazeldene Guest House, with mein host's Lesley and Paul been their usual freindly and welcoming selves, the rooms are alway's spotless and warm, breakfast is served 8:30 - 9 and is very good, paul likes a chattie roomso no grumpy morning allowed, this was our third visit to the establishment, and we have already booked again for next year. It is wonderful homely Guest House clean and tidy and situated in the right place for us. Highly recommended

Response

Thanks Andy & Margaret for your wonderful review. We\'re pleased you always enjoy yourself when you are here and yes the banter is always first class, it\'s just like having friends around for a couple of days. We look forward to seeing you both again next April for another instalment of the Bowness Blues Festival. Take care and stay safe.

Reviewer:Mr Andrew Lindley| Thu 29th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely as usual - Rating 5/5

Fourth visit to Hazeldene and already booked next stay. Paul and Lesley make sure we have a comfortable stay. Always feel welcome. Spotlessly clean rooms, great breakfast and home made jams and marmalades,what more can you want? Rooms at the rear of the house have lake views. 5 mins walk down the hill to the town centre with all its facilities and a little further to the lake. Free car parking. Steps to reach front door and stairs to rooms so need to be reasonably mobile.

Response

Hi Janet & Tez thanks you for your lovely review, we try our best. Be wonderful to see you both again next year for the Blues Festival. Take care and stay safe.

Reviewer:Ms Janet Yuen| Tue 27th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely B&B in a great location. - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hazeldene.Paul and Lesley are fantastic hosts, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.Everything is clean and tidy.We had room 4 which is a good size and has a great view over the lake.The breakfast is fabulous amd really sets you up for the day.Having allocated parking given the location is an absolute godsend.Thanks for a great weekend.

Reviewer:Robert F | Sat 3rd Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect!! - Rating 5/5

Paul is the perfect host and from the second you arrive makes you feel like you’ve been friends for years. Sadly we didn’t really see Lesley much apart from the morning but can confirm that she makes a mean breakfast! Just what you need to set you up for a day walking (from pub to pub :-)). Great location and is central to everything. We will definitely be returning and will recommend to family and friends.The room we stayed in was on the main road but that was the only room left when we booked. I’m a very light sleeper so it was only an issue for me. My husband wasn’t phased at all. This isn’t a complaint just a personal issue. I’ll try and book a different room next time but would still be happy with this one if that’s all that is available.

Reviewer:R | Tue 13th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Paul is the perfect host and from the second you arrive makes you feel like you’ve been friends for years. Sadly we didn’t really see Lesley much apart from the morning but can confirm that she makes a mean breakfast! Just what you need to set you up for a day walking (from pub to pub :-)). Great location and is central to everything. We will definitely be returning and will recommend to family and friends.The room we stayed in was on the main road but that was the only room left when we booked. I’m a very light sleeper so it was only an issue for me. My husband wasn’t phased at all. This isn’t a complaint just a personal issue. I’ll try and book a different room next time but would still be happy with this one if that’s all that is available.Show lessStayed:February 2018, travelled as a couple

Reviewer:Ruth F | Mon 12th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Recommended - Rating 5/5

I would recommend Hazeldene to anyone. Paul is very welcoming and friendly and gave lots of little tips about the area. The view from Room 4 was excellent. The breakfast was very good. It was a lovely walk from the front door down to the lake and easy access by car to lots of other places of interest!

Reviewer:Tanya A | Sun 7th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Spent the last few days at this lovely guest house it's in a great location between Windermere and bowness .greeted on arrival by Paul who is an excellent host.our room was very very clean comfy and warm as we had some cold weather.bed was comfy I can't fault anything. breakfast was also good .served by Lesley.every little detail is catered for like scissors to cut the sachets at breakfast and home made jams if I stay in the lakes again will defiantly give Paul a call .

Reviewer:Freda G | Tue 2nd Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Room with a view - Rating 5/5

Just had a fantastic 2 night stay, in this spotless and well run B&B.Situated just a short stroll from the centre of Bowness on Windermere, with an abundance of local shops, pubs, eateries, boats to hire and cruises around the lake. This idyllic location was perfect for our first time visit to the lakes and has left us with the desire to return again soon.Paul and Lesley have got this B&B spot on in every aspect. From the warm welcome and informative local knowledge right through to the little touches which made this B&B a home from home. We stayed in the larger room 2 with a beautiful view over the lake, where there is space to sit and reflect on the days activities.You will not be disappointed in booking this B&B and I am even confident in recommending the Hazeldene to the mother in law !!Thank you Paul and Lesley for a wonderful stay and no doubt see you again soon.

Reviewer:Paul G | Fri 27th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Birthday Weekend - Rating 5/5

We were welcomed like long lost friends ,bags taken to room and felt at home ,this place is spotless and the beds comfortable attention to detail is second to none even little scissors to open sachets,breakfast is fantastic would recommend the cumberland sausage,The best thing are the hosts Paul and Lesley happy to chat and have a laugh we will return soon even just to say hello.LOVED IT.

Reviewer:John W | Mon 2nd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Birthday weekend - Rating 5/5

We were welcomed like long lost friends ,bags taken to room and felt at home ,this place is spotless and the beds comfortable attention to detail is second to none even little scissors to open sachets,breakfast is fantastic would recommend the cumberland sausage,The best thing are the hosts Paul and Lesley happy to chat and have a laugh we will return soon even just to say hello.LOVED IT.

Reviewer:John W | Sun 1st Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Fab place - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Hazeldene for 2 nights and this guest house is fantastic. Stayed in room 2 with amazing views of the lake and mountains. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing with plenty to eat and more was always on offer if you wanted it. Homemade jam and marmalade well worth a mention as delicious. Paul and Lesley are exceptional hosts and we'll definitely go back to stay there as central location for Windermere and Bowness.

Reviewer:Karen F | Sat 30th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago